Day 57, Fall 1: Autumnal Equinox

20160921_230858.png

Today’s the first day of Fall! The colors are a-changin’ here in Stardew Valley.

20160921_235718.png

I’ve got a lot to do today. I want to get as much planted as I can using the Quality Fertilizer. I crafted 36 units of it using almost all of yesterday’s fish. I’m trying not to think about the thousands those fish would have sold for… I’m sacrificing present value for (hopefully) greater profits in the future!

Preparing the Soil

I cleared away the dead hops and pepper plants, and mixed all my fertilizer into the dirt. It’s enough to cover about a third of my little crops field.

20160922_000302.png

I also used a few Mixed Seeds to fill in the experimental area where that corn is.

Errands

I need seeds, and of course something to water them with. It’s off to town to pick up both those things before I can finish the day’s work.

20160922_000941.png

I kept two fish from yesterday that were needed up at the community center – a bass and a sturgeon.

20160922_001104.png

These were the last two needed for the Lake Fish Bundle. The reward: another dressed spinner (increases bite rate).

20160922_001314.png

By the way, that Junimo is saying “Thank you.” Finally my knowledge of their alphabet comes in handy…

Here’s the calendar for Fall:

20160921_232414.png

There’s a fair on the 16th and an event called “Spirit’s Eve” on the 27th. Seems like that could be their version of Halloween – unfortunately that late in the season will end up being just before Christmas.

New Seeds

20160922_001913.png

I browsed Pierre’s large selection of Fall seeds – there’s a lot of variety this time around. I ended up buying some grapes, pumpkin, eggplant, bok choy, and yams. I’ll do a bit more fishing to make sure I have enough fertilizer for all of it.

Geodes Galore

Next it’s time to pick up the steel watering can.

20160921_232747.png

I brought a ton of geodes with me that I from mining and fishing. They were very lucrative – three new minerals, three iridium ore, and ten gold ore. That’s enough for two gold bars, which means two Quality Sprinklers are coming soon!

I donated all the new stuff at the museum and got two rewards out of it: a skeleton for my house, and something called a Rarecrow (functions the same as a scarecrow but it’s… rarer? There are eight different kinds).

20160921_233033.png

I needed nine more fish, so I took the mine cart up to the lake (seriously, these things are amazing for getting around) to get them. With the Dressed Spinner it went very quickly and gave plenty of time to finish planting back at home.

Sowing & Watering

20160922_003123.png

Had to be sure to put the grapes off to the side where the trellis won’t be in the way.

20160922_003349.png

The new watering can can hit up to five tiles in a line if you hold the button down long enough. As far as I know, that means you can be five times as energy-efficient. It’ll be best to plant future crop fields with the five-tile width in mind, and the added benefit is they’ll be perfectly ready to get iridium sprinklers installed later.

After an eventful first day of a new season, I said goodnight to Robin (working late as usual on the barn) and went to bed.

20160922_004049

Wrap-Up

20160921_234802.png

Items Donated:

dolomiteeggemeraldjamborenelimestoneskeletail

Achievements Unlocked:

treasure.png

 

Tomorrow’s weather: Rain

2 thoughts on “Day 57, Fall 1: Autumnal Equinox

Leave a Reply

