Day 33, Summer 5: Still No Octopus

20160706_204958.png

I spent the entire morning fishing in the ocean again, but still couldn’t find any octopuses. An octopus seems more like the type of creature to be caught in a trap than on a fish hook anyway, but then why the “appears in the morning” hint? Do the contents of my crab pots vary based on time of day?

20160706_205222.png

Willy now sells the next level of fishing rod. This one can use tackle! He has some different types of bobbers available to put on it too.

I made 1,185g from the morning’s fishing and then went to Pierre’s to spend it on seeds.

20160706_212612.png

Today’s choice of crops included 9 each of peppers, radishes, and wheat. These have a pretty quick growth time to help get my farm income going again so I won’t have to rely on fishing. I also bought six tomatoes to fill in the gap between the hops.

Checking in with Robin, I found out I have almost everything I need to build a silo:

20160706_213030.png

A mere 100g price tag is a welcome sight

The only thing I’m missing is a piece of clay, which I later found while tilling for the day’s planting. Tomorrow’s plan is to order myself a silo! It’s about time too – the chicks needed another portion of feed today.

20160706_210032.png

The grass I planted yesterday is already starting to spread. So that’s what it means by “grass starter” – I can put some in a fenced-in area and it will fill up over time, and I can always have fresh grass to cut as long as I leave myself a small patch to refill with.

20160706_214121.png

Here’s the crops after a satisfying afternoon of planting. The peppers and radishes got basic fertilizer (after I forgot to use it on the tomatoes… d’oh). I’m experimenting with Speed-Gro on the wheat to see if it can really turn a 4-day growth time into 3 days, a 33% increase in production if it works.

I’ll be back to spending a lot of time watering now. I plan to use retaining soil on anything else I plant after this, to cut down on the water needs.

If I’m going to be a very successful farmer, I’m going to have to get my irrigation automated with sprinklers. That could be a really good medium- to long-term goal  to work towards next, and it means I’ll need to go much deeper in the mine to find the raw materials.

Wrap-Up

With a couple hours left over at the end of the day, I deposited some new fish and foraging items at the community center:

  • Spice Berry, Sweet Pea (Summer Foraging Bundle)
  • Ghostfish (Exotic Fishing Bundle)
  • Tuna, Tilapia (Ocean Fishing Bundle

The only thing in the shipping box was some extra spice berries I found:

20160706_211336.png

Total Income: 1,485g

Skill Progress:

20160706_211319.png

Journal Progress

Quest Started: Delivery (2 Tiger Trout to Willy – 300g)

(I doubt I’ll end up finishing this one)

 

Tomorrow’s weather: Sunny

Leave a Reply

